Very Strange Things…

This is probably the weirdest irony of all.

I have been trying for weeks, going into months, to donate my plasma and/or platelets with only a few successes. This was mainly due to my notoriously low hematocrit and try as I might, I couldn’t get it much above 35.

Now, the strange bit. I have been searching the internet for paid studies to make extra cash and one happened to be for White Blood Cells. I pretty much figured I’d flunk this as I’d flunked the American Red Cross testing but signed up anyway figuring that maybe lightning wouldn’t strike twice. Plus, I needed the money enough that it would be worth it to try. Lo and behold, my hematocrit via the blood test they’d done the week before was just at 38% and the subsequent finger stick was right at 40%.

For reference, I have NEVER made 40% via blood draw, let alone finger stick. My lowest crit reading ever was actually bordering between 23 and 24 percent. Also keep in mind, I bled like a stuck pig only a few days before I did this. Without getting too graphic for people with weak stomach or no knowledge that women actually menstruate, I mean heavy stuff here. Normally, this is believed to severely affect crit levels but oddly it seems not to have done anything to me this time.

Does this mean my veins are money hungry? I prefer donating for free but, with the incentive of $100.00USD, my body went above and beyond the call of duty. I feel so dirty…*shudder*

Even so, my White count was low at around 2,000. They told me the norm for their study is between 4,000 and 10,000. I told them I would mentally will myself to bring it up, which got a laugh, but I’m serious. My crit somehow got up by itself in less than a week from 36 to 40, so I figure anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

