The Length of Forgetfulness

I’ve been neglecting a lot of things over the past few years. Namely, I’ve been neglecting my former habit of fasting and grooming. Normally, when I go through the year, I fast on a regular schedule. These past few years have been different though in that, mainly due to the instability in my home life, I’ve not been able to focus long enough to consciously partake in my usual activities.

When I fast, I normally cut out all reasonable access to technology and go without a haircut while making an effort to groom/style what does grow out.

Now in regards to the non-cutting of the hair bit, I’ve been keeping up with it but that’s where the second part, grooming, comes into play. Beyond washing and the occassional combing, I haven’t been doing anything at all with my hair. It’s now at the point where it’s past my ears in its natural form and it’s becoming quite an annoyance. At the present, my options are pretty wide in what I can do with it even if my knowledge level in what to do is very narrow. As soon as I finish up with this blog entry and my shower, I’m actually going to give one option, bunches, the college try after more than five years drought.

However, my long term efforts are going to be focused on either learning how to do a wider variety of styles myself or finding the “Gratis Coiffurist“. I’m leaning more towards self reliance as I’m not as likely to give myself bald patches. I should just get a degree in Cosmotology myself and save the money I’ll likely be wasting on future “frustration runs” to the nearest stylist. I would like to help a struggling (group of) student(s) out though. We could both get something out of the arrangement and, in the long run we’d both be happy.

So, to that end: Starting on Friday at 09:00AM I am going offline completely and shutting down my computer. I will not watch television, I will not use the microwave (Yeah, that’s right! I said it!), nor will I use any other technology that’s not necessary to my day to day living. I will be using the bath/shower, sink, and WC (duh!), the heat, the lights, and the telephone for necessary calls (about what I do now really). I will do this for a period not to exceed one month but no less than one week.

In regard to my hair, from this moment onward: I will comb and brush it everyday (*shudder*) after my shower and shampoo, I will style it in either cornrows or bunches to keep it manageable, and I will continue in my endeavor to grow it long.

Now to prepare…muahahahahaha!

2 thoughts on “The Length of Forgetfulness

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Aaron Wakling

    Like

Leave a Reply

