Oh Damn It All…

Today, I will get some writing in. I’m determined to finish a complete story today and, hopefully, sell it. I need to earn money to buy food and, right now, with my foot in a rage at the present, going on long walks isn’t much of an option. Nor is standing on my feet for long periods of time.

I hate being sedentary. I know I joke about being listless and lazy a lot on this blog and in other places but, despite it going contrary to my good health, I’ve been known to fight resting through Strep, Community-acquired Pneumonia, Chicken Pox, really bad cases of Influenza, and other illnesses which, but for communicability, would hardly have stopped me from at least trying to escape the people who were justifiably worried for my safety. Be very thankful that I’m a total CDC/Epidemiology geek because, if I weren’t, I’d make Typhoid Mary look like a Saint.

Right now, my latest lover is a tendon injury. Plantar Fasciitis. It’s got me trapped in my room at present and, if I didn’t have my foot at this odd angle, would be killing me right now. With this foot, I’ve been unable to sleep. The pain has been so unbearable that walking has been highly difficult to impossible on some days. Probably against better judgement, and my good health, I’ve pushed on anyway and wound up crying my eyes out in the shower as soon as I got home with my foot soaking in the relief of the warm water.

If you’d believe it, this pain has been with me since last November. I initially thought it was just my being a moaner and ignored it until it got bad enough that I thought it must have been a sprain. This had me staying off of my feet for a while but, life in all it’s infinite glory, didn’t want to wait for my foot to heal and I had to go out a lot in the period of six weeks. From there, it was on and my foot let me know that it was ready to layeth the Smackdown. The more I walked on it, the worse the pain got and it eventually got to the point where the pain was so bad that I honestly wanted my foot chopped off. Not kidding.

I didn’t know what it was but I knew it really hurt and I was getting no relief.

Knowing my familial medical history, a range of illnesses came to mind. Cancer [I have a freaky high platelet count [normally in the high 300s] and WBC count [once low but now normally just below the limit of concern] that rose at will while doing another study], Diabetes [and all its associated illnesses], Sciatica, and other things I’ve known my family to go through. I’d already inherited the female linked Hypothyroidism, so why not something else in addition to that?

As it turned out, I was both right and wrong in my assessment. I was right about it being something someone else in my family had carried [female line] but I was wrong about what it was. Thankfully because, even with this pain, this is still better than some of the alternatives.

So for the next year or so, I’m going to be doing a lot more writing and a lot less moving around. I was even thinking of getting a wheel chair to stay off of my feet as much as possible even while outside. I suppose the added benefit of that would be the buildup of guns the likes of which I’ve never seen.

So, for the next year or so, I’m going to be spending a good deal of my time in my room writing, reading, sewing, knitting, and learning. The Library is going to be my best friend and, aside from doing Yoga and other exercise [that doesn’t involve my foot] to work out, the only other places I’m going to travel to will be Medical/Clinical/Marketing Studies and shopping for food that can’t be shipped here via delivery service.

Thank goodness for delivery services like Bulkfoods.

Leave a Reply

