L’chaim

“If you cannot be grateful for what you have received, then be thankful for what you have been spared.”
– Yiddish proverb

Found this quote while posting an entry on 43things regarding a goal I’ve adopted.

When I think back on some of the things I’ve seen and the realized futures of people who were once thought of as above and better than me, I think this often.

Even up to today, I’ve been told that I’ll never amount to anything and that I, due to not conforming, will never be anything unless I subscribe to a specific point of view. As with situations in the past, I think I’ll go my own way regarding that line of reasoning. If I had ‘gone with the flow’ in the past, I might well be the drug addicted mother of ten kids by now with barely an eighth grade education.

I don’t claim to be better or worth more than anyone else. I am just relieved not to have gone down the same paths many of my contemporaries have.

Now, I go to knit.

Leave a Reply

