Hospital Adventures

Wow, last night was not quite so fun. My mother got sick and had to go to the ER. What really made me freak out and force the issue of going was the fact that an episode of ER aired Thursday night where a patient being evaluated had a lot of the same symptoms before she died of an intestinal bleed.

Since I’d seen it before, I didn’t bother to look at it but the memory of it was fresh enough that I pushed the idea of going to the Emergency Room. I’m really hoping she’s alright. If she gets evaluated by her rat assed PCP doctor and treated wishy washy again, I’m cancelling my upcoming appointment at the NIH to set her up at a new medical center. According to her, she’s already going to come out to CB but she’s changed her mind so much in the past…

This isn’t the first time she’s been sick like this and, each time, the doctor brushed it off.

As if that weren’t enough, earlier on Friday the idiots at the pharmacy she uses managed to get her prescription so supremely super wrong that even I tore it down. The guy on the phone then tried to rudely blame it all on my mother like she didn’t know the difference between Ambien and a pill she’s taken for more than thirty years. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my mother get up in someones face [so to speak] in quite that way. No less than twenty minutes later, the delivery guy came back to get the prescription and gave her the money she’d paid when she thought she owed it.

When I found out what even the mistake medication was, I knew I was right to have moved from them to a different pharmacy for my own needs. Zolpidem is a generic form of Ambien. It shouldn’t cost a penny, yet they’re charging 25.00USD for it.

I finally convinced her [I hope] at least on two fronts to come to CB with me. It’ll be better in the long run. Less of a hassle to get to and from the appointment site and overflowing with staff that actually gives a damn in what happens to the patients.

Leave a Reply

