Never Giving Up, Not Giving In

I need to find someone else with time on their hands who’s patient and willing to learn, teach, and grow. I almost gave up on [eventually] turning my growing skills in knitting, sewing, and other fibrearts and crafts into a business to sustain myself all over a series of negative experiences with someone who clearly wants to remain in the same deep rut she’s dug herself in for the rest of her life.

Seeing this quote on 43things really gave me a boost. Seeing a recent airing of a PBS special on specialized craftwork as art called Craft in America reminded me that I was doing something that mattered even if I didn’t sell a stitch. Seeing a MARC Train ticket I purchased six months ago that’s about to expire reminded me about my previously stated goals on not becoming like the Maternal Parental and allowing myself to be pulled into a rut while missing out on life. The MARC Train ticket also reminded me about fiscal responsibility, waste, and frugality. It’s going up on my wall as part of a collage to remind me of this day.

I will just have to become a better and more effective communicator because its pretty obvious that she’s purposely not holding to her end of the bargain. She gets half of anything I make if I make a sale via her talking with people. As I’ve found out after the fact, there are a lot of people interested but she’s purposely not telling me about it.

My ass will be going back to the knitting/crocheting needles, sewing machine, and anything else crafty. My mind will concern itself with the world outside as opposed to getting wrapped up in petty co-dependent emotional drama. My focus will be on volunteering, recruiting referrals for the clinical studies, school, autodidactism, my health, and working.

I’ve got a lot of things in my own future to think about. Retirement, this new found possibility of a relationship [long story], and more.

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”
– Ella Fitzgerald

Now, I must leave and take my knitting with me. I’m working on a square for a blanket I hope to have done before November.

Leave a Reply

