Projects May Through December

For the rest of the year, I’ve decided to dedicate my knitting to a local charity. In doing this, I feel I’ll not only be completing my 43things goal but that, more importantly, I’ll be helping others in a truly altruistic and egalitarian manner.

I found out about this charity via a fellow volunteer at a gig I did a couple of weeks ago and my basic plan is simple. I’m going to knit as many scarves and hats as I can between now and 7 December. Once this time is complete, I’ll turn them in to the JVC Mitzvah Day people for handing them out to the people who need them as part of Winter Survival kits. My only hope is that what I knit is warm enough and nice enough for the people who’ll be using them.

If anyone is interested in participating, please send me an e-mail and I’ll reply with the contact information.

Each scarf must be 7” by 50” and each hat much be capable of fitting an adult with a folded rim. I’ve got a few patterns in mind once I finish this strip scarf I’m knitting right now using my 16” circs. According to the flyer though, any pattern will do as long as the specifications are met.

For right now, I’m ok for yarn but I just might be tapping into the supply reserve before too long. They do supply that as well when they have it.

Leave a Reply

