Following Sage Advice

On the advice of my therapist, I looked up the local DBSA chapters to see if one is close. One really is but, alas, it conflicts with (of all things) his appointment.

Otherwise, it would be great. It’s right near a place I was interested in checking out. Close to a library and close to a yarn shop I was also interested in checking out. It’s also not too far from school when I eventually start back up. In lieu of dues, I could volunteer there to cover my membership (so sayeth the site) and they’ve got Arts and Crafts.

I don’t know. We’re going to have to have a talk and I’m going to have to figure out how to make this schedule work.

On the advice of a separate individual who also happens to be a genius and a good human being, I’m going to be scaling back on the level of involvement I have in some things. Chief among these things is my tendency to be the go between for situations that are technically not to do with me. I am not a Case Manager and no one is even offering to pay me to be one.

I’ve got enough on my plate as it is without having to worry about other peoples stuff as well. Slowly but surely, I’ve been taking care if my debts and all the other crap I’ve been putting on the back burner in my life to render aid to others who are more than capable of doing these things themselves or finding someone qualified to help them. It makes me feel better to know that I have been taking time out for myself and minimizing the problems in my own life rather than letting them fester until both they and I reach a breaking point.

All the time I’m working on this, I’m also taking time to center on myself to determine what truly gives me a reason to keep going; what makes me happiest when I’m doing it. The Genius gave me simple advice but, even with that simplicity, it’s probably going to be the single most heart wrenching thing I’ve done.

In the meantime, I read, study, write (’cause I got a good keyboard now), do Promo, Knit, Crochet, Sew, and otherwise learn.

Leave a Reply

