Busy Busy Bee

I appear to be on a reading frenzy compared with my normal rate of consumption. I downed no less than six thick books in less than three weeks and one was even a boring (to me) title but I powered through anyway.

Such is the stuff of mood swing legends. At least I retain what I read. I’ve heard of some who have no memory of the things that occur when they have an upswing.

I think, for a while, I’m going to focus on the books I have at home. Since I’m going to be giving away/selling some anyway, I figure it might be a good idea to take an inventory of what I actually want to keep by reading through it all. One instructional book has been sitting there for years collecting dust. It’s called 7 Day Afghans and my main reason for leaving it there was because, at the time, I could neither knit nor crochet and thus couldn’t make heads or tales of it. Now that I can do both, I’d like to give it another run.

Aside from that, I cleared more space on the sunny side of my room for plants. I de-dusted The Rolling Stand and tossed the few things taking up space that couldn’t be used again. Now all I’ve got to do is figure out just what to plant there. I’ve got a plethora of containers…sort of…downstairs. They’re actually containers for stuff I bought from the market that have been cleaned out but the noodle bowls grew peppers, so I figure these will do ok for whatever I ultimately decide to plant.

Oddly enough, Radishes and Cinnamon Basil are coming to mind for the greens and flavor. So too are mushrooms but I can’t even begin to fathom how I’m going to get a seeded culture of that. I can try for a supermarket button mushroom chopped up but will it grow?

Tomorrow is Gardening Workshop day. I need to prepare. It seems ironic that I’m doing laundry when I’m planning on getting so dirty tomorrow.

Oh yeah, I’ve got termites. Not me personally, the house does. The funniest part of the whole thing is that no sooner do they try to make their entrance into the house than a spider sets up shop right where they thought they were going to invade. Now, that’s true comedy.

Leave a Reply

