Week Three – Mulchapalooza

I did a lot of mulching and boy was it fun. I have never understood why but being put on the heavy solitary work always seems to bring me the most joy.

Yesterday was no exception. I spent most of gardening workshop either shoveling or loosening up mulch to be put on the planted seed beds. It was awesome. 🙂

I’m choking like a strangled crow now from asthma and allergies and my feet are killing me from the tendon injury but I loved every minute of it.

Next week, I might switch up and do the seed beds themselves or actually work on my little plot. One of the women in the workshop is interested in getting tomatos so, as long as she’s willing to help, I’m willing to do the lions share of the work in maintaining the plot. With two of us on it, I can definitely maintain a larger plot than the 4×4 I was going to do, so that’s something.

In truth, I was considering giving up. I have no heavy tools of my own yet and, of what I have, none of it was going to get a large enough plot cleared without a lot of work on top of the work I’d be doing as part of the workshop. As my feet can attest right now, ow.

I’m going to drop into Home Depot and/or Target tomorrow for some materials if I can’t find something better on Craigslist, Kijiji and other sites tonight. Sans jokes, a hoe should be more than enough with my garden trowel. I just need to borrow the engraver from the library for my bicycle, trowel, and whatever I end up getting from the sites or stores.

Come to think on it, I may pick up a shovel as well for the winter snow. That way, I can help my neighbors out should we get another Snowpocalypse worthy storm this Winter.

The Mystery Pepper

The pepper is getting bigger by the day it seems. I’m now positive that it’s not a cherry based on its growth habit. Hungarian Wax would be nice but, at the end of the day, I’m just happy that it’s growing. I only had those other peppers grow out in the back before and that was with less sunlight than these are getting during the day. I’m hoping that the light amounts the plants in my window are getting will be enough to make everything (even the tomatos) fruit and ripen.

As it stands, I now have the following growing in my window:

  1. Ginger (Zingiber officinale)
  2. Sweet Potato (Ipomoea batatas)
  3. Burpee’s Hot Mix Peppers (Capsicum)
  4. Burpee’s Roma and Cherry Tomato (Solanum lycopersicum)
  5. Spider plant (Chlorophytum comosum)

I’ve got plans for more as soon as I buy the seed. I want to grow (or try to grow) radishes either for greens or roots on The Rolling Stand. I gave my seeds from last year to the gardening workshops collection so everyone could get use out of them. I figure, when I buy seeds, I could buy an extra pack for the workshop since I plan on participating in it from now on. It’s really fun and, duh, I get my own plot to grow food in.

I’m going to try for lettuce too but…I’m not getting my hopes up. Yes, it could be grown in more shallow pots or a seed flat and it would be perfect for something like The Rolling Stand but do I have the light requirements? For the garden though, it might be perfect.

Plans for today – Work on the quilt by cutting out fabric squares, do some more knitting, crocheting and reading about gardening in that order. I need to dig deep inside the fabric bin to find the right texture fabrics for the quilt but I am proud of my work thus far.

I so need to go to Target for containers as well. Nice big clear storage bins. Taaaaarget… *hypnotic stare*

Leave a Reply

