Anti-Scoville

When I first grew the peppers, I was expecting most, if not all to die. So nine of them surprised me quite a bit by not only staying alive in a noodle bowl but especially when they all started producing flowers.

Even with this, I had my share of reservations about them doing much more than that. The majority of the flowers produced just fell off right after blooming, so I assumed that I would just have a group of long lived flowering, but not fruiting, peppers.

Imagine my surprise when the first fruit started developing. It was almost too much to hope that it would develop and I kept one skeptical grain of sand reserved. It was pretty much a case of high hopes and lowered expectations. Well, I was pleasantly surprised to see the pepper develop and grow until it began turning color. It got a lovely shade of red and ripened quite nicely.

Once I knew it had gone as far as it could go, I gently plucked it from its plant and chopped it up to add to my breakfast.

Despite rumors to the contrary, it wasn’t spicy. Ah well. It was sweet at least.

Leave a Reply

