Sock Failure Number Five – Gearing up for Take Six

I have big feet. For this reason, I have to cast on at least forty stitches using worsted weight yarn in order to make a sock that has a real possibility of fitting my men’s US size 9.5 feet.

It’s not easy tearing up sock after sock at varying stages of completion given all the hard work I’ve put into making each stitch. I’ve been following the directions and even going off the rails but nothing seems to be working in my favor for this. I just want one simple pattern that could make a pair of socks to fit my feet. Is that too much to ask?

I think I’ll start small this time. First I’ll get in practice on the very beginning (Ribbing) and the very end (Kitchener stitch) by means of one long tube sock. This can keep me in practice until I can find video instructions or a pattern that fits my foot. This will also get me more used to using DPNs.

Once I’ve done that, then I can see about heel flaps, turnings, and gussets.

Leave a Reply

