Day Eight – PBS

PBS has been a constant support for as long as I’ve been alive. My earliest memories are of watching Doctor Who and other programming on the local PBS, MPT, and learning things ahead of my age level via the educational programs shown.

As I got older, and wound my way through the school system, PBS was there at every step with grade appropriate shows that enabled me to keep up with, or even surpass, my grade level in things like reading, science and mathematics. Shows like Reading Rainbow, Write Right, Square One and others helped me in my comprehension of the topics we studied and, in the case of mathematics, enabled me to scrape by with a passing grade when I otherwise would have failed.

The learning hasn’t stopped over the years either. At my current age, I still consider PBS, via MPT and WETA, to be an invaluable resource, with up to date information on local, national, and international affairs, the latest in science and technology, as well as a plethora of programming on home improvement, crafts (knitting, crocheting, etc), and cooking.

I love PBS.

Leave a Reply

