I’ve Got This One…

Villimarjatar is mine. I’ve got it. It took me two days to figure out what I was doing wrong, but I got it in the end. As it turns out, I was knitting when I should have been purling. I didn’t know how to read a lace chart until I found a good video on YouTube which explained it in great detail.

Now, it’s just a question of doing the 30 odd pattern repeats to make the scarf/shawl. I’m up to this though. I can do it. I feel I can make this happen. This is within my capabilities. Nothing is impossible if I put my mind to it. I’ve just got to remember to believe in myself even when things don’t look so bright. It sounds sappy but, prior to this past week, I wouldn’t even have attempted knitting lace, my fear of it was so great. Compared with then, I feel like I can do anything.

In less than a day, I managed to go from a ball of yarn to one pattern repeat and then some. As of this writing, I’m on row three of the second pattern repeat. That’s something to be proud of considering I’ve never done a knitted lace pattern in my life before two days ago. I am damn proud of myself right now.

Proud, but cautious. I don’t want my ego to get ahead of me and make me over confident. The last thing I want is for me to get comfortable with this pattern and mess it up out of laziness. No, in fact, I want to remain in this uncomfortable nervousness for the duration of the patterns knitting so I can be sure of being cautious.

Aside from that, not much has been happening. I baked some more Oatmeal bread and helped the Maternal Parental make biscuits. All of the above mentioned comestibles were delicious, as usual.

Some friends came over and we all enjoyed ourselves playing with my No Longer An Ex’s Kinect system. I kicked ass in some street fighter game. It was all in good fun.

I’m no closer to finishing The Return of the Scrap Yarn Shiver Stopper – Blanket 2013 though. I just haven’t been working on it lately. I’ll get around to it after I finish Villimarjatar – Personal Knitting Challenge of 2013.

Finally, I’m taking time out of my day to read again. It’s trash literature but it is the written word. Well, eInk at any rate. I have the Twilight Saga on my Kindle and I’ve taken to reading through that at night to help put me to sleep when the pills don’t work. Speaking of, I think I’ll skip over to my floor and read some right now. Later!

Leave a Reply

