Food Security and Other Tidbits

It feels so good to be eating again. It’s been four months, prior to yesterday, since I had a decent meal. For the most part, we were living on bread and tea, sometimes even water. Now, we have food though, which is a good thing.

Now that I’m eating again, I can get back to crafting. My knitting and crocheting have really suffered of late from a lack of concentration due to lack of comestibles. I’m going to give it one more day for the knitting but I feel up to crocheting right now. The Return of the Scrap Yarn Shiver Stopper – Blanket 2013 is not as complex a pattern as Villimarjatar – Personal Knitting Challenge of 2013. So, it should be relatively easy to get back in the groove for that one.

On the phone front, I’ve changed my mind as to what phone I want to save up for. Instead of getting the HTC Evo V 4G, I’m going to get the Samsung Galaxy S II 4G from Virgin Mobile. In my mind, it is clearly a better phone. I want something that’s going to last me a long while since I don’t plan on buying a new phone for several years. I also want something with actual room for apps to be installed and to run. My current phone, the LG Optimus V, only has 178.5mb in room for apps. I just had to uninstall Facebook so I could have Accuweather on my phone. That’s unacceptable for a phone. Still, being alerted of possible sudden storms takes precedence over being a social butterfly. :-/

The old phone is going to the Maternal Parental. I’m giving it to her with the hope that she’ll learn to use it. That way, in case of an emergency, she’ll be able to use my new phone with minimal to no problems.

I’ve been going over the information on this blog and…I think it’s time for an update. I’m going to be overhauling a number of things on the various pages of this blog over the next few days. I might even put my two favorite posts on their own pages rather than link to them. That way, people can just read them without going into the depths of my blog.

Let’s see, what else? I may be baking biscuits today for the Maternal Parental. She’s fond of my yogurt biscuit recipe, so I may make her two batches after I finish up here. I certainly have enough flour for it. I got two bags at the market to add to the half a bag I had at home. I can use the last of the oatmeal my No Longer An Ex brought me to make Oatmeal Bread as well, since we didn’t buy any bread from the market.

I’ll be so glad when I do my Amazon shopping next month. Not only will I be getting my bread pans but I found a good deal on some Shea Butter for my hair. My previous supplier charges $25.00USD for one 16oz container of Shea Butter. The Essential Depot only charges $11.97 for the same size jar. I can get two for less than the price I used to pay at the other merchant. You’ve got to be kidding me? If this turns out to be good, I’m going to let all the Naturalista ladies on my block know about this great bargain.

In addition to that, I’m going to be getting a steel crochet hook set for myself to compliment the aluminium one I already have. I figured it’s time to start pushing myself to make the more delicate projects the steel hooks are required for.

I pretty much have the next three months worth of shopping and bill paying planned out. I just hope I’m able to pull it off. 😀

Leave a Reply

