Back To The Beginning

I had to frog Villimarjatar. Again. This time, I made it as far as row five of the second pattern repeat before I made a mistake and had to rip it all out. Still, that’s better than nothing.

Let’s see. What else has been happening in my life? Oh yeah, I’ve been baking again. I first got the idea to try making Banana Bread when I realized the over abundance of bananas I’d purchased were getting a little over ripe. So, I decided to use them in a recipe I found on the Food Network website. Wow, am I glad I did make them into banana bread. The recipe was easy to follow and the results were delicious.

In fact, the first loaf was so good that I made a second loaf. This wasn’t as sweet owing to my making it with slightly less ripened bananas but it was still good. I’ve got three more bananas left and I plan on letting them ripen a little more today before I make a third loaf of Banana bread. My only changes to the recipe have been margarine instead of butter and yogurt instead of milk owing to the fact that I didn’t have butter or milk in the house. It still turned out wonderful.

Of course, this got my mind working on what else I could make. I went shopping and, on a lark, picked up some chocolate chips. I never intended to make the cookies myself. I was going to get the Maternal Parental to do it for me since I’ve never formally made cookies before and was a bit intimidated by the prospect of tackling the recipe. Well, the Maternal Parental wanted to smoke that day, so I was left to my own devices. I figured, “What the hell?!” and decided on making the cookies.

I used a hand mixer for most of it, the creaming of the margarine and sugar especially. Once it got to adding the flour mixture to the creamed eggs/margarine/sugar mixture, I switched to a spoon to mix the cookie dough together. From there, it was a simple matter of spooning the scoops of dough onto my sorely poorly cookie sheet and making them for ten minutes a batch. They came out delicious too. In case you’re wondering why they’re so light, I didn’t use brown sugar in them. I didn’t have any so, instead, I made up for it by using more white. Hence their blondeness.

That’s about it really. I’m planning on making other things as I get the ingredients in the house. Today, I’m going to make more banana bread though. Later!

Leave a Reply

