Schedule Keeping and Other Tidbits

It’s been one week and I’m finally on schedule. I woke up at 2:31am and just didn’t go to back to bed. This probably isn’t good in the long term but, for today, I think I can swing it. I just wanted to make sure I was up to begin my schedule properly in the new week.

  • 5:00 – 7:00 Writing
  • 7:00 – 8:00 Exercise
  • 8:00 – 9:00 Shower/Breakfast
  • 9:00 – 10:00 Knitting Daily/Closer to Truth
  • 10:00 – 12:00 Mathematics
  • 10:00 – 13:00 Kindle Reading
  • 13:00 – 15:00 Science
  • 15:00 – 17:00 Cooking Shows
  • 17:00 – 19:00 Linguistics
  • 19:00 – 20:00 Internet
  • 20:00 – 21:00 Shower/Medication

There’s just one thing perplexing me about this enterprise. I don’t know what to write. I have absolutely nothing on my mind apart from this blog post. The writing I do today may be in my journal rather than any kind of story. Sometimes a dawdling doodle can do one good. The fact of the matter is, I’m so out of practice writing, I don’t know where to begin to get my mojo back. I dealt for a long time with a massive case of writer’s block, to the point where even basic journal and blog entries were a struggle to maintain.

The only difference between my very productive younger years and now is that I get more sleep and I take different (in this case any) medication. Going off of my medication isn’t an option to get my mojo back though and a long term lack of sleep would make me seriously ill to the point of hospitalization. I’m older and more informed about my medical condition now, so I’m going to have to find a new means of driving inspiration to get me motivated to write. I’m also going to sit here daily for my alloted two hours and write stuff out regardless.

Aside from keeping my schedule and trepanning my brains for writing inspiration, I’ve become interested in maintaining my personal finances vis a vis a personal accounts manager. I downloaded some software called GnuCash and I’m currently trying to make heads or tails of what I’m doing. You see, I wasn’t taught financial literacy either at home or at school. The only financially literate input I recall having in my life was from PBS. Years ago, they featured a program called ‘It Figures’ and now they feature a program called ‘Biz Kid$’. Both are aimed at children with the goal of teaching them financial literacy and basic math skills. I really wish they’d taught this in school. It would save me a lot of heart ache and help me figure out how to balance my budget.

I did manage to find a few videos on YouTube detailing some aspects of how GnuCash works though. I’m hoping it will give me enough of a foundation to figure out what I’m doing. If anyone out there knows a good and free tutorial I can look at to learn about personal financial accounts management, I’d be much obliged.

The socks are a little further along than they were yesterday. I managed a whopping three rounds on them before I got antsy and obsessed with my finances. I may switch off a part of my schedule today to knit instead in order to get caught up by the end of the month on the progress of this project.

I really need to become a more effective knitter and crocheter as it pertains to project management. I start one project, then another and then a third before jumping between the three or more of them. Startitus isn’t good for the mental outlook.

On the fitness front, today marks one full week of exercising. I haven’t done it yet but I fully intend to. In fact, I’m not going to lay down (despite my sleepiness) until I have completed that one hour of exercise. I’m actually at the point where I’m going a bit beyond the one hour mark when I workout and I’m pushing myself a little further in how much I exercise. That feels good that I can do that.

Even so, I need to develop an effective exercise routine to follow. Right now, I’m doing a mishmash of exercises I’ve learned over the years that have benefitted me in the past. In a few weeks though, when these grow stale, I’m going to follow along with the Fitness Blender YouTube account. Even with that, I’m going to write down a list of basic exercises to follow and keep track of what I’m doing to suppliment the tracking of what I’m eating.

So many management issues and one me. I really need to get my stuff together.

Leave a Reply

