GnuCash, How I Love Ye

I finally figured out GnuCash. All this time, it was really a question of how much financial data I had to enter and which account to draw from rather than any problems on the applications part. It’s going to take me a long time but I’m going to enter my financials line by line until I get as many of them in there as possible going back to 2010 (my earliest e-mails since my last major computer crash). That ought to fix things. I has a happy. I has a happy indeed.

Today we’re meant to get storms through until tomorrow. I’m not looking forward to it but, unlike in the past, I’m not freaking out and having a panic attack about it. There’s nothing I could do at my level of scientific ability to change the course of the weather, so I’m not going to lose my stuff over it. I just hope the power stays on uninterrupted and that it’s all just a bunch of rain with minimal thunder. Right now, it’s clear but I can tell that’s going to change and quickly. I was tracking some storms coming out of Ohio last night on Radar, ’cause I can do that. They should be here sometime today.

My 365 photo project is going well. I’m up to twenty seven photos counting today’s picture. Most of them look the same as they’re taken in my room. I’ve tried to spice them up a bit by using props like my morning tankard of tea and, for yesterday, a Pride flag and a thumbs up but to avoid staleness, I think I’m going to have to up the ante a bit. I’m going to switch back to taking photos with my phone and change the locations a bit. Not today though because, once I do my workout, that photo is getting taken as a mark of accomplishment. It is going very well though, I have to say.

I viewed less than one FitnessBlender video yesterday. A storm came up just as I was viewing and I had to get off the computer. I’m poor, I don’t have the financials to get a replacement should lightning strike…again. If I had my laptop, I’d be able to view them all with gusto but, as long as I’m on this one, no, just no. I will try again today though as I really want to learn the moves I’ll be doing in a few weeks time. I did manage to view a few of the exercises but I’m going to start the video from the beginning today to make sure it all absorbs into my brain.

On the Knitting front, I did pretty good yesterday. I got four rounds done on the socks. Now the row counts are even. Twenty k1p1 rows in the cuff and twenty k1 rows in the leg. I have a backup plan to work on the socks today should I be forced away from my computer again. Hopefully, there won’t be a severe thunderstorm watch or warning as there was yesterday. Simple rain and thunder, I can work through but not the severe stuff. It does seem obvious now that I’m not going to meet my goal of finished these two socks by the end of the month though. I’m not crying over it but I am determined to get them done as quickly as possible so I can move on to socks three and four.

Today is Day Ten of my Exercise Mandate. I have so many feelings coursing through me right now. Excitement, accomplishment, fear, joy frustration and boredom all rolled into a massive ball in the pit of my stomach.

  1. Excitement – I’m finally getting this done without someone breathing down my neck about it.
  2. Accomplishment – I’m actually doing it on my own.
  3. Fear – I might not be able to keep this up.
  4. Joy – That I’m able to do even half of what I do in a morning.
  5. Frustration – My results are slow in coming, but I’m not giving up.
  6. Boredom – I’m getting a bit tired of the same routine every morning already.

I’m not quitting though. No way in heck am I giving up on my long term goal of getting fit.

My hair is still looking good. Okay, not good but passable. The cornrows are holding up well and, for the most part, they’re not coming loose or anything. I take them out and wash my hair first thing tomorrow barring thunderstorms before I put in a fresh, and hopefully, better looking set. I’m trying to convince the Maternal Parental to give cornrowing a try but she’s afraid of new things, so I get the feeling I’m going to be doing them myself. Again. My arms are a bit stronger, thanks to the working out, so I don’t anticipate a problem. I’m going to go for putting the same eight cornrows in my hair that I did last weekend. I’m still not up to trying micro cornrows yet but maybe someday I will be.

Last but definitely not least, SCOTUS did a good thing yesterday. 6/26/2013 will go down in history as one of those landmark Civil Rights acheivements. They did a dumb thing the day before, striking down the VRA, but I can give the good Justices props for doing the right thing yesterday. Scalia, Thomas, Alito and Roberts…not so much. They’re not on my holiday card list, that’s for sure.

Anyway, that’s enough writing here. I may try writing in my IJ/DJ/LJ for a bit about some juicy personal stuff before I make breakfast. Later!

Leave a Reply

