Experimentation in Exercise

I have been keeping up with my exercise routine these past few weeks. I haven’t missed a day’s exercising. With this, I have seen positive results in that my strength has been returning, I have been sleeping better, my appetite has been healthy (for a change) and I have been losing some weight. There was just one problem in all of this: The overwhelming exhaustion that occurred with exercising for 90 minutes to 2 hours. Nothing would shake this sleepy pall that covered me day after day.

Despite my schedule, I would take naps during the day and still be sleepy enough to get 7-10 hours of sleep a night. This, on the whole, wasn’t working with my schedule. I’m meant to be up at 5am writing. It’s when my mind is most conducive to creativity, hence the early time. When I was younger, insomnia kept me awake for days at a time and I frequently would write during those early hours as a means of escape from my plight of sleeplessness. Now, I’m just trying to write to bring back my creative streak. The sleepiness was getting in the way of the coherence of that goal.

So, I decided to experiment with my exercise schedule to see if working out at a different time might aid in normalizing my sleeping patterns. Instead of exercising at 7am, I opted instead to exercise at 19:00 (7pm) in the hopes that this change would positively affect my somnolency. Day one of the experiement was a success. I exercised at 19:00 through 20:30 (7pm – 8:30pm) and my body was quite effectively tired. I then spent the rest of my night before bed time knitting and watching Jerome Pradon videos via YouTube until 23:30 (11:30pm). I went to bed and promptly fell asleep until 5:19(am), only waking once during the night at 2:15(am) owing to thirst.

If I can repeat the results tonight, I’m changing my schedule. I have a good feeling about it though. 🙂

On the sock front, Keith’s Socks II and Ziller’s Symphony are a little under half done. I am presently in the middle of the heel flaps of socks one and two. It shouldn’t take me that long to get beyond this, through the turning of the heels, the gusset decreases and into the sock feet. It feels good to be beyond the legs of the socks finally. I feel like there’s a light at the end of this sock tunnel now.

Once I finish these socks, I go back to Villimarjatar and the Return of the Scrap Yarn Shiver Stopper, though, I’m thinking of doubling the width of Villimarjatar. I think I want a full shawl rather than a scarf/stole as it would be on me with the present stitch count. For this, I would need circular needles and more yarn. I’ll have to cross that bridge when I come to it. Right now, I’m focused on the socks.

In the furtherance of the Hair Saga, I cornrow my hair today for sure. Yesterday was a pins and needles day for me what with the heel flaps, exercise experiment, etc. Considering I exercised twelve hours ago, my arms feel great and up to the task of styling my hair. I’m going to attempt to put the exact same style in my hair as before, just neater hopefully.

That’s about it really. Later, people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

