Second Sock Syndrome No More…

The skies are falling, Loki’s roaming. Ragnarok has commenced. Finally, I am on socks three and four. *fanfare*

After a shameful six months of knitting and non-knitting, I am finally working on the paired socks to socks one and two. I’m currently five rounds in on them and looking forward to getting this over with as a cashy money project comes after this. Despite being sick of doing them a certain way, I think I will crochet the order rather than knit. When I put my mind to it, I can crochet a hat in three hours. If I really struggle, I could do three hats a day and have the whole project of thirty hats done within a month’s time.

Of course, this means more yarn. I’ve already got five skeins each of two of the colors the party ordered. I just need to get five more skeins each of these colors and ten skeins of the third color they wanted. These hats eat up quite a bit of yarn when crocheted. Any excess yarn will go toward making some bed socks for me.

Once I finish the Cashy Money project, it’ll be fun knitting time again. I have plans to make Kate Atherley’s Bigger On The Inside Shawl in Knit Picks’ Diadem yarn in the colorway Fluorite. I really don’t know how long it’s going to take me. This will be the first knitted lace project I will have completed as well as the first done in real wool/silk blend yarn. I am making it my mission to finish this one. It’s a Doctor Who project, it’s by a designer whose patterns I love and it’s about time I finished something aside from socks and crocheted works.

After that, I’m making more socks. Hopefully, by then, I’ll have the 47″ circular knitting needles and I’ll be able to cast on four socks at a time. When I can do that, I’ll get extra yarn in the same colors as what I currently have and knit two true pairs of socks all at once, alternating the colors on the cable. It’ll definitely save time in the long run. If not, then I’ll make due with my 40″ circular needles and cast on two instead.

Speaking of socks, I’ve finally worked out a mathematical calculation for knitting up socks in different sizes based on my gauge. I can finally knit Konstantinos his socks and knit socks for my new friend, Todd. They both have feet much larger than mine and I was really scratching my head as to how to make something for other people with this pattern. It feels good to figure out something knitty. I can’t wait to test this hypothesis. 🙂

I haven’t been working on the writing at all these past few weeks. I should but I just haven’t had the motivation. Shame on me for that. The motivation should be coming from within me. I’m going to make it my mission to work on one story starting tomorrow, with hopes of finishing it by the weekend. After all, if I don’t do it, who will? They’re my stories collecting dust on my computer and in my head. No one else can write them for me. I must push myself.

That’s about it, really. I’m just eagerly anticipating going to see the 50th anniversary Doctor Who at the BSFS.

Take care, all. Have a great weekend! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Second Sock Syndrome No More…

  1. I think you can give yourself a bit of a pass on writing these past few weeks, as long as you get back on track. You have been sick, blocked, meeting new folk, and, oh yeah, going out alone. And with winter closing in, most people do get into their crafts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

