Damn Nosebleeds

I can’t believe I’m saying this but I’m looking forward to the warmer months.

The Maternal Parental is driving me bonkers lately. She frequently turns the heat onto 82F+ and leaves it on that for hours. This morning was no exception. I awoke to a lovely spattering of red on my pillowcase and thought to myself, ‘It’s pretty dry in here’ before it dawn on me that I was sweating. I don’t normally sweat. Up I rose through the shimmering waves of heat and sojourned downstairs to see what the thermostat was on. 83F, yowza!

Still, that’s not as bad as the time I caught it on 87F on a 40F day. I may be taking a bath later, rather than a shower. Not for cleaning purposes but for osmosis just to get back some of the water I’m losing. o_O

The saddest part of all is that nosebleeds temporarily defer you from donation at the American Red Cross. It’s not on their website, so it’s a good thing I called to make sure.

The one good thing about this is that I’ll be coherent today when I study the Chemistry lectures.

Now, if you’ll excuse me. I’m going to comfort myself by looking at Tobias Menzies and Tom Hiddleston movies. 😥

4 thoughts on “Damn Nosebleeds

  1. I’ve been bathing in a tub with a cup or so of baking soda and adding about 1/8 to 1/4 tsp. of essential oil to it. Before I ran out, I mixed the essential oil in glycerin before I added it to the tub. It seems to make the oil dissolve in the water better. So far, I’ve used rose, thyme, rosemary, and patchouli (not mixed together). The rose smelled good and helped my itchy skin. The thyme smelled a bit strong, but also did good things for my skin. Rosemary smelled so strong it took me a while to get used to it. Patchouli isn’t a scent I usually like, but it did good things for my skin, and helped heal a couple of bites I got before I flea treated the cat. For your nose, try inhaling steam before you go to bed. A steamy shower works. Or putting a dishtowel over your face while breathing in hot water in a sink or big bowl. Yes, it would be easier to ask your mom not to turn up the heat, but I’m trying to be realistic. I know my tolerance for heat and cold got all screwy when I was going through menopause, and I’d imagine your mom is getting close.

    Like

    • She went through menopause shortly after I was born. I’ll take your advice and get a humidifier for my room. Goodness knows, the plants will like it. 🙂

      Like

      • Makes sense. Lately, I’ve been more sensitive to cold than I used to be. If you get a good one, a humidifier will not only help your room, but the whole apartment. Get a good one with a water filter, replace the filter regularly, and remember to clean and dry it well if you put it up for the summer.

        Like

        • LOL, that’s a pretty big benefit. We live in a two level attached dwelling. I filled the tub with warm water earlier and I’m already getting a benefit from the humidity of that though.

          I just want something that will benefit my babies and I while allowing the Maternal Parental her heat. Thanks for the suggestion.

          Like

Leave a Reply

