More on Food Insecurity – Grow Your Own…Not

No one has been stupid enough to say “grow your own” to me yet. I think I would have torn them a new one if they had. I ran across these cool articles on the Facebook page Poor as Folk.

Why “Grow Your Own Food!” might not be so easy for Poor People – Part One

Why “Grow Your Own Food!” might not be so easy for Poor People – Part Two

As it stands, I’m currently saving up to get a hydroponics kit. It’ll supplement but not sustain us throughout the year. I’m also making yet another attempt at growing things in my south facing windows. The landlord of the place I live in doesn’t allow outside plants unless they’re decorative. Meaning, flowers and only allows them in the front. There’s a prohibition on anything other than lawn furniture on the back patios and balconies. A community garden isn’t an option as there’s a rental fee for one and, in case you didn’t know, I’m agoraphobic.

Leave a Reply

