Help! Second Thoughts On The Little Boy Blue Blanket…

I get just over 1,020 yards of yarn (Pound of Love) crocheted into the Little Boy Blue Blanket and I have second thoughts about the size. Why me?

So, I am asking my fellow crocheters out there to answer this simple question. Is an acrylic 50″ x 50″ blanket too big for a newborn baby? I am not experienced in such matters, hence my overestimation. In the interest of full disclosure, a good majority of the babies in my family tend to be on the big side, again hence my overestimation. Still, I think that the blanket is too big.

I have a day over one week to get it done smaller if I do decide to unravel it. Do you think it could be done? Do you think it’s worth it? Do you think I should just continue? For the record, I do have a yarn ball winder, so it’s not like it’s that great a difficulty unraveling it.

Never let it be said that I don’t go for the difficult projects. That Nazanin S. Fard dress will be mine given the stitch count I’ve put into projects lately.

Aside from that, I’ve been invited to view a play! Yay! My friends have a part in the play An Ideal Husband at a local community center and I was invited to attend. I’m really looking forward to it even though it’s semi-back in that place. Yep, I’ll be sticking my toe into the waters of Park Heights again for the first time since my maternal grandfather’s funeral where the funeral car line drove through the neighborhood.

I don’t know how I feel about it yet. I don’t feel like I’ll have a anxiety attack from it though. While it’s close, it’s not exactly where I grew up. So, I don’t have a direct association of pain with where I’m going. Hopefully, I won’t freak out.

Anyway, thanks in advance for your help. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Help! Second Thoughts On The Little Boy Blue Blanket…

  1. if it were 40 by 40 it should be still big enough from what i’ve been told that it will if your lucky become the baby’s blankie when they are 3.

    Like

    • The long edge is 50 inches and I don’t know how much the short edge is going to work out to be. I only have one skein more of yarn, also 1,020 yards.

      Like

  2. I did the math, it should come out as 50″ x 36″. The guide I have for baby blankets doesn’t have anything with measurements like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

