Resigned Relief On The Little Boy Blue Blanket

Based on input from various sources online and off, I’ve decided to continue crocheting the Little Boy Blue Blanket to it’s full capacity of 50″ x 50″. It’s going to be difficult but, considering the alternatives, it’ll be easier to crochet it out than unwind yards of blanket only to crochet it back up again in less than a weeks time.

I will say this: After this, do not attempt to commission me for things unless I give the green light for such things to be requested of me. I am so tired, I could scream. After this blanket is done, I want to get the stuff done for my friends and then take a long self centered break from crocheting and knitting for other people. I still haven’t made my own Winter accoutrements. I still have socks on the circular needles that should have been made ages ago.

I tend to be too open and giving with my crocheting and knitting skills. Believe me, that’s changing. From here on out, I’m being selfish. I’d really better love you or you’d better have a darn good story if I’m going to make something for you for free after this.

I’m just tired of doing things for free for most people or of being taken advantage of when I actually do charge.

I will, of course, continue to knit and crochet for charities I’ve garnered a working relationship with over the past decade. That should go without saying. For everyone else, consider carefully what you think my work is worth. Don’t ask for the Sistine Chapel of knitting and crocheting and pay me a 3 year olds finger paintings worth.

Leave a Reply

