Not My Clowns, Not My Circus…and Crocheting Too

This whole situation regarding the Cosby allegations has certainly been triggering over the past few weeks. Last night, I donned the asbestos body suit and dived into the comments of one of the Facebook article links. In that unhappy land, were a bunch of apologists, making brash assumptions about exactly what and how a person victimized by Rape should do and act. If it weren’t so pathetically sad, it would have been laughable. Most of the people tapping their fingers and flapping their gums have no experience being victimized and yet they felt honor bound to not only call the accusers every conceivable derrogatory name in existence, but to actually have the audacity to dictate, in their view, how someone who has dealt with such a trauma should behave. Madness.

Really, spare me such ridiculous nonsense.

None of these self appointed guardians of Cosby’s virtue were in the presence of accusers and accused at the time of the incidents, so how could anyone stand there and so vehemently declare his unblemished innocence?

I don’t know either Bill Cosby or his accusers. Nor do most people taking sides in this dogfight.

In all honesty, I don’t like him and never have. I think he’s an arrogant shithead who uses people for his own ends and castigates when he hasn’t got an ethical leg to stand on. Yet, you don’t see me screaming from the rooftops that he’s either innocent or guilty in this situation because I wasn’t there. I would hope that, when the full bevy of facts come to light, everything will fall into place on one side or the other. Sadly, I know from experience that cases like these often go unsatisfied because of gullible people who become staunch defenders even in the face of overwhelming evidence.

The whole thing just sickens me. Not my clowns, not my circus.

In brighter news, if I can ever get from under this somnolent haze I’ve been under these past few days, I am almost finished Ari’s scarf. I’m going to work on it tonight, provided I don’t pass out again and sleep for twelve hours.

Here’s the most recent picture of the scarf.

Everyone, and I do mean everyone, loves the pattern and the colorway of the yarn. The pattern is called the Noro Windowpane Scarf by Adrienne Lash and the yarn details are Knit Picks Chroma Fingering weight yarn in the colorway Prism. I honestly don’t know if Knit Picks will ever sell this colorway again but it’s worth a try petitioning them.

Now onto my craziness. I have been doing a lot of updates with regard to my online accounts recently. I’ve updated this blog’s appearance a bit, got a few new accounts that I’m looking forward to playing with and I’ve even updated my public Facebook page. I’ve also updated my OK Cupid page again, expanding on my interests on my profile. Hopefully, this will all aid me in meeting people I actually want to meet (OK Cupid), aid in my production of fresh new online content (everything else) and over all just save me from the headache of keeping up with multiple accounts of differing names.

Last but not least, I’ve been eating grapefruit. Ye gads, it’s disgusting! Being a completely unobservant silly person, I saw citrus-y fruit in the spot marks “Oranges” at the market and picked up a bag. Little did I know that what I picked up was, in point of fact, the most foul thing to evolve from the citrus line. Grapefruit. Ruby red grapefruit. I didn’t notice it was grapefruit until the Maternal Parental and I had gotten home and couldn’t return it since it’s a perishable. So, there I was, stuck with grapefruit that neither I nor the Maternal Parental could eat owing to medication interactions.

I tried to give it away but no one who was close enough to take it would come and get it. (glaring at Joel and Mike) So, after initially trying one grapefruit and swearing them off for all eternity, I began to eat the rest of them. Mike, in his infinite wisdom and goodness, explained how to eat them with a minimum about of bitterness. Apparently, you have to peel the membrane from the flesh of the grapefruit for it to be palatable.

Why do we eat this again?

I did this and was met with a bitter but not impossible to eat fruit. Then, I started getting dizzy and thought it better that I suspend taking my medications until after this little lesson in paying attention at the supermarket was over with. From a maximum of ten, I have two left after almost a week of eating them.

Of course, the downside is that I’m more dizzy than I’ve ever been before in my life. Somewhere at the intersection of medication still in my system and grapefruit consumption, I am having some nasty side effects. Oh well, it’s one more day or less if I eat these last two grapefruit tonight. Then, it’s three days to clear the grapefruit enzyme out of my system before I can go back, blissfully, to taking my meds.

All because I didn’t want food to go to waste. I’ve got a pathological issue with this that really should be addressed. I know what it comes from: brutally starving as a kid and as a young adult but there’s no reason for me to make myself suffer like this anymore. Yeeesh. 😦

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must get back to work on the scarf and other projects. Later. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Not My Clowns, Not My Circus…and Crocheting Too

  1. The best way to eat grapefruit is to cut it in half, so each section is cut open. Put sweetener on the exposed fruit. Stick it in the fridge for a while to let the sweetener sink in. Take a spoon and scoop out the pulpy part of each section (if you need to, cut the sections with a sharp knife). So you are not eating the skin or the skin of each section. That cuts most of the bitterness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

