Unbelievable!

Would you believe my schedule of going out by myself is getting so busy that I need an itinerary? You see, I’m expecting packages over the next few weeks and the Maternal Parental can’t make the distances I want to travel. So, she’s staying at home to wait for the packages while I go out there to make these appointments. We’re not talking interstate or international travel mind you…yet. We’re talking mainly both city and county and, this one is a long time in the coming, Bethesda. I haven’t been there in years.

Darn agoraphobia.

Well, hopefully, I won’t freak out on any of these upcoming occasions. DC/Bethesda is a long way away. Yet, I have to try for my own good. If I can survive Baltimore City, then surely I can survive DC and Bethesda. Right? There’s that nervous feeling again. The traveling aspect is not right upon me, so there’s no numbness this time. Just a blind panic felt deeply in my core. All I can do right now is breathe deeply and try not to hyperventilate.

A few days ago, I repotted some plants. It feels so weird in my room with everything shifted around. My four foot tall Snakeplant is currently downstairs recovering but, tomorrow, I will bring it back up here and put in on The Rolling Stand in its new permanent location. Since the plastic container Coleus cuttings were done flowering, I threw that away. I may keep the potted Coleus to see how long it will survive once they’ve all flowered. Still waiting on the Geraniums to bloom. The Lemongrass is growing like crazy. I had to hack my cousin’s and my own Aloe Vera up as it was all in danger of tipping over. The orange trees, spider plant, African violet and pineapples are all doing well too.

Not to sound like an echo, but I’m finishing the Windows for my friends scarf for Ari tonight. I was sick yesterday and the early part of today and too tired from potting plants the day before. I have no excuses now as I’m feeling better, haven’t traveled anywhere and haven’t done much today besides throw up. 😀

So, it’s getting done to music. Specifically, Tori Amos, The Decemberists and various others. Yay.

By the way, I will be making these socks. I’ve long wanted to work with this yarn and the pattern displays it so brilliantly. It’s a truly good match of pattern and yarn.

The cool blog for today belongs to my newest Ravelry friend. I’m a complete loon and go around randomly friending people regardless of familiarity. If they seem cool and they have a great profile, I’ll generally friend them. Anyway, this is the blog of my newest friend. It’s called Eat, Knit, Love… and it’s pretty awesome.

Okay, that’s enough rambling. Later! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Unbelievable!

  1. The sox are gorgeous. And so unusual!

    Big congrats on beating the agoraphobia!

    If you feel a bit too freaked out even with the deep breathing, you could try to imagine a big bubble around you. My shrink said it was a sort of dissociative behavior. Not something to do all the time, but if I know there is something to do about the panic; I’m less likely to panic in the first place.

    If you find yourself with too much lemongrass, I’d be happy to take some off your hands. I’m mildly allergic to black pepper, and use ground up lemon grass as a substitute. The taste is similar enough that it works well.

    I’m starting to feel almost human again. Getting sick when you’re on your own is no fun. Especially in a town where there is no food delivery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should see the other ones in the book. I picked those to make because they look the easiest out of the sixty something patterns to make.

      Thanks! I don’t think I have it beaten yet. More like we’re in a rough tug of war but I’ve got some leverage.

      I’ll give that a try when I’m by myself in my room but I worry about doing that around here in public. I might wind up with my clothes stolen. LOL

      I don’t know the import laws governing your state as far as sending plant material but I’d be happy to send you some seeds. If I can’t send the seeds from my own plants, I’d be more than happy to buy you some. They’re really easy to grow and sending it from the company would cover any restrictions.

      I’m glad you’re starting to feel better. I hope you fully recover in very short time. You’re braver than I am. I couldn’t move away from an Urban/Suburban area. I need the Metro even if I detest it. LOL I also need the cold and snow. I’ll be sure to send you some ice and snow when the next Nor’Easter comes through. :p

      Like

  2. When I first moved here, I knew there were no busses/metro, but I figured that there would at least be taxis. (I was wrong.) Also, Meredith owned a house here, and Jena lived here, also. They moved, as did the friends I made since I moved here. (Is it my breath?) I plan on moving to the Seattle WA area sometime in the next few months.

    Think of the bubble thing as a transparent shield between you and the world. Many agoraphobes tend to be more empathic than the general population. The shield enables you to filter other’s emotions so they don’t affect you so much. (In my case I sometimes feel like I’m outside my body watching to make sure I’m okay.) Kind of using one type of crazy to mitigate another type .

    As far as the lemongrass, while I doubt it’s proscribed, I really don’t need to be planting stuff when I’m moving soon. But thank you for the offer.

    Have fun! Hugs.

    Like

    • “When I first moved here, I knew there were no busses/metro, but I figured that there would at least be taxis. (I was wrong.) Also, Meredith owned a house here, and Jena lived here, also. They moved, as did the friends I made since I moved here. (Is it my breath?) I plan on moving to the Seattle WA area sometime in the next few months.”

      That’s my reasoning for staying near Baltimore and other cities. I may not like it much, but there’s reliable transportation. Plus, people eventually move on. The only constancy is change. Seattle is lovely, but gets A LOT of rain. So sayeth Rashid and Jeff, two friends of mine who lived there for a time. They had some issue with SAD too while there.

      “Think of the bubble thing as a transparent shield between you and the world. Many agoraphobes tend to be more empathic than the general population. The shield enables you to filter other’s emotions so they don’t affect you so much. (In my case I sometimes feel like I’m outside my body watching to make sure I’m okay.) Kind of using one type of crazy to mitigate another type .”

      Sounds intriguing. I’m going to try it tomorrow when I go out. Not going to close my eyes though. LOL, it is Baltimore City I’m going into. :p

      “As far as the lemongrass, while I doubt it’s proscribed, I really don’t need to be planting stuff when I’m moving soon. But thank you for the offer.

      Have fun! Hugs.”

      Okay, well, in case you still want it when you move, I got it from either Burpee’s or Park’s seed companies. I’ll look it up tonight, if I remember to.

      Thanks, I’ll try to have fun. LOL *giant hugs*

      Like

Leave a Reply

