On Hats, Projects and Hectic Scheduling

I’ve got two upcoming appointments I’m going to by myself and an additional appointment I’m accompanying the Maternal Parental to. Apparently, I’m back to the numb feeling at the present. I suppose that’s good. It’s better than puking my guts out in nervousness.

I’m on schedule for my projects at least. I’m currently in the middle of Hut von Mike die Schlafmütze with a projected completion date of Wednesday or sooner. Given that I’m not taking The Little Boy Blue Blanket with me to work on due to its size, I’m going to start Blodeuwedd The Hat (my own hat) to take with me to my appointments. It’ll be something for me to work on rather than focusing on my nervously churning stomach or palpitating heart.

Well, it’s either Blodeuwedd The Hat or another pair of socks. Though, either would make a welcome change to working with black yarn in a dark room. I must admit, I’ve mostly been knitting by feel on these projects. I must be getting old indeed to have this problem considering I used to knit in the dark, with black yarn, using only the light of the television to aid me. I’m so over that now. I could do with an Ott-lite.

If I should get paid for the Blanket and other commissioned items, It’s going directly into my anemic Savings account. It’s almost 2015 and I’m doing the 52 Week Savings Challenge…backwards. Instead of saving one dollar the first week and then two the second, I’m saving $52 the first week, $51 the second week and so forth for the rest of the year. I’m trying to stay positive about this but, between the Maternal Parental and my own greed for yarn and books, it’s unlikely I’ll save anything. Still, I’m going to try. Anything going into my Savings account is not coming out except in extreme emergency situations.

Given that I’ve gotten it down to the princely sum of $1.20, I can’t exactly complain about any savings. Now can I? 🙂

The very last book I am buying for the foreseeable future is going to be a book on socks. It’s called Think Outside the Sox: 60+ Winning Designs from the Knitter’s Magazine Contest by Elaine Rowley. I was blown away by some of the featured designs I saw on Ravelry the other day. The last DVD outside of Doctor Who (because of course, I’m getting that) I’m going to get will probably be The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, which includes the hottie. You’ll just have to ask who I consider hot in those movies. :p

I am really slimming down on my purchases over the next two years. No yarn, as I am giving up on commissions due to the lack of payment and respect from so-called paying customers. No books and no DVDs outside of Doctor Who. Lest you all start panicking, I am still making things for my friends, gratis, as I have promised to. In fact, not jumping to these unpalatable commissions will probably increase my productivity for the things I like doing. Let it be known, my friend’s list is select.

Woe to those of you out there who don’t appreciate hand knitted and crocheted items enough to pay reasonable prices, in a timely manner. The thing I still can’t figure out is, why do you order things if you’re not willing to pay for them? Do you think love alone pays the bills of knitters, crocheters, weavers, etc? Yes, we love our craft but the people we owe money to in this our consumerist society don’t want to hear that we only have yarn to pay them when the rent’s due or when the electricity’s about to be cut off. Do you tell your creditors that you only have smiles to pay them in? Would you work for nothing to make something for a super cheap ingrate not willing to pony up for your hard work? No? Really?! Interesting.

Sorry, people. Rant mode off.

Tonight’s agenda is Doctor Who Series Eight and working on this hat. Though, to be honest, working on this hat might prove difficult if I’m glued to Doctor Who. 🙂

Later!

2 thoughts on “On Hats, Projects and Hectic Scheduling

  1. Might I suggest that in the future you at least get your costs covered in advance? Let them know the rest will be due on delivery. Or just charge the full amount from the git-go. Amazon isn’t sending you those books without being paid first. Why should you knit/crochet something without being paid first? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, no no no. I’m out of business. I’m knitting and crocheting, for free, for my friends as well as myself and that’s it. I cannot wait for this last order to be done. Smeagol will be free. Free!

      People tend to whine when it’s hand crafted. I always hear how they can get it for cheaper from Wal-mart or Target. From now on, I’m going to suggest that they go to those establishments and leave me in peace. :p

      Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

