Better Living Through Chemicals

Met my new p-doc on Friday. He’s a nice person. He’s also highly effective at mixing the anti-lunacy cocktail of medications I require for what passes for normal in my world. Apparently, someone forgot to put down at That Place the fact that I have Bipolar Disorder. As you can probably tell from this blog, I don’t exactly keep that little factoid hidden from prying eyes. Especially when those prying eyes happen to be medical professionals tasked with the heavy burden of treating my illnesses.

 

For the record, I was diagnosed (at different times) with Bipolar Disorder II, PTSD, and Generalized Anxiety Disorder with Agoraphobia becoming a problem child in recent years. Not a secret in the slightest. So, to have it divulged twice that not only was I not being fully treated for my illnesses but that my records have yet to transfer from the other place is getting me a little hot under the collar.

 

Thankfully, Doc L set me straight upon hearing from my own mouth what was going on with me. He adjusted the two medications I take, Aripriprazole and Escitalopram, as well as adding in a new medication called Prazosin. For the first time in a long time, I haven’t had nightmares, haven’t felt super anxious and haven’t felt majorly depressed. I haven’t had a single flashback since Saturday. For the first time in quite a while, I feel motivated to get stuff done, including writing and crafting. I’ve even been sleeping better since I first took the new regimen of medication on Saturday.

 

It’s early days, but I feel hopeful about this new cocktail.

 

In other related news, due to the hypersomnia, I gained weight despite my exercising like a neurotic freakazoid. Even though I moved around quite a bit, sleeping upwards of 12 –14 hours a day took its toll on my atmospheric displacement. To that end, I’m cutting any and all junk food from my intake of food. I’m also halving my sugar intake. This will doubtless send MyFitnessPal for a tailspin of thinking I’m starving myself but, let me assure you, I’m not. I eat to satiation everyday, without fail. I just tend to eat low calorie foods when I’m not gorging myself on tea.

 

I’ll have to very carefully count what and how much I eat to ensure I don’t set off the alarms of the site.

 

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank each and everyone of you who sent kind words to me during my recovery period. I’m incredibly grateful for your friendship and hold it close to my heart. *giant hugs for you all*

 

In the realm of Knitting and Crocheting, I am on round twelve of the second doily and no further along with the gloves. That changes today. I’m not feeling like my world is spiraling out of control anymore, so back to work. Happily, I’ve also got the Hobbes doll I’m making for a new friend to look forward to crafting. As soon as the stuff my new friend mailed to me gets here, I’ll get started on it. I should have it turned around and ready to leave for its forever home by 1 March.

 

While I was recuperating, I had a chance to watch a few concerts. Specifically, Marilyn Manson’s Guns, God and Government compilation show and Queen’s Live Aid set from the mid-80s. Both concerts really served to lift my spirits and get my mood on the right track. Yay. Red heartNote

 

Today’s agenda is to finish watching LOTR – The Extended Edition, baking two loaves of bread, finishing one doily before starting on the next one, making progress with the gloves and last but certainly not least, exercising after carefully counting my calories. That’s all for now. Thanks for reading. Later! Rolling on the floor laughing

6 thoughts on “Better Living Through Chemicals

  1. Glad to hear your new meds are working! I’m sure you’ve already done so, but, just in case, remember to look up your new meds and dosages for side effects, drug and food interactions, and how habit-forming/addicting they are.

    Chances are, since you’re over the hypersomnia, the weight will drop off again.

    At any rate, I’m happy that you’re feeling so much better!

    Like

    • Thank you for your help and your support.

      I add them to WebMD’s medical profile thingy. It tells me everything as far as interactions etc in addition to being available wherever my phone is.

      I have been losing weight. I dropped about two pounds within the past week.

      Thank you!!!

      Like

  2. Thank you for not getting pissed at the unsolicited advice. 🙂 I don’t seem to be able to stop myself. But, as I’ve often told folks, I don’t get all bent out of shape if you ignore it or go in some other direction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Depression is like Splash Mountain.

      Bipolar Disorder is like Pennywise the Clown is at the controls of Joker’s Jinx.

      I’m still standing through. Thanks for your comments. 🙂 *hug*

      Like

Leave a Reply

