Rare Medium Writing Practice

I should preface this by stating that I am not a poet. This is part of a writing challenge from an earlier Blogging U called Rare Medium that I decided to try. The idea of the challenge is to stretch your writing abilities by writing in a format you’re not familiar with. The specific objective is to write about your typical day using this unfamiliar format.

 

So, I chose poetry.

 

Enjoy. Rolling on the floor laughingRed heartRainbow

 

Knit, Crochet and Knit.
No one ever seems to get it.
I am mentally unfit.
This is as exciting as it gets.
Agoraphobia is the pits;
A sufferance I do admit.

Bipolar disorder is a raw deal.
It’s topsy turvy how I feel.
A spinning infinite movie reel.
An EF5 twister with a twist of zeal.
This illness really doesn’t appeal.
To be this ill, you must have nerves of steel.

Facebook, Google+, Ello, WordPress and Fet.
This is as exciting as my social circle gets.
A plethora of books, movies and plants for pets;
Not much room for sadness or regrets.
The occasional trip to a therapist;
Feels like getting to terror’s gist.

Crochet, Knit, Crochet.
I’m hoping to get more exciting some day.
There’s more to me than yarn and plants;
More life and zeal than books and crafts.
A whole existence gently, inwardly wafts.
A fulfilling life my hard work may grant.

2 thoughts on “Rare Medium Writing Practice

  1. One of the things that helped me to write poetry (something I gave up decades ago) was to read it out loud, so you know it will flow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to write songs and made a few attempts at poetry when I was a kid. I got slammed for it though and never picked it back up. *shrugs*

      Like

Leave a Reply

