The Dream of Melusine

Today’s Writing 101 prompt is called Give and Take. I am supposed to write a compare and contrast of two things. The twist for today is that I’m supposed to do it in dialogue format. I have no experience in doing this but I’m giving it a go.

 

So it got me thinking. What could I compare and contrast that I’m familiar with? At first, I was going to have a comparison between two characters in my story, Melanie Grunwald and Melusine Gordon. That didn’t appeal to me though as they compliment, rather than contrast, each other. Then, I was going to have an argument between two characters in my story, Melusine’s lover and partner John Grunwald and her ex-boyfriend and father of her child Richard Cromwell.

 

However, from the standpoint of the writing prompt that made no sense. Then, it came to me, Melusine’s internal dialogue is still messed up pretty badly from the abuse she suffered. I figured the dialogue could be her old life, represented in her mind by Richard Cromwell and her new life, represented in her mind by John Grunwald. They could have an epic verbal spat over her qualities as seen through her own lens. It’s a mental clash of the titans of Hope and Despair. At any rate, that what I’m hoping to write out. It could come out all wrong. Here goes:

 

After truly making love for the first time in her life, Melusine Gordon slept deeply. Though she was physically sated and comfortable, her mind remained troubled by past demons and future specters looming in her subconscious. What would her community and family think if they saw her now? Would they judge her further and condemn her even more than they already had? Melusine watched as two figures coalesced from all her negative and positive thoughts and emotions to become Richard Cromwell and John Grunwald.

 

Richard Cromwell: I should have known you’d never amount to anything more than a whore. Look at the neighborhood and family you came from. You’re trash, Melusine, and you’re always going to be trash. Filth begets filth and your little bastard will grow up just as bad as you.

 

John Grunwald: No, no more. You don’t get to define Melusine or Little Melanie. Not you, not your community and no one from her past gets to say another unkind thing about her or our daughter.

 

Richard Cromwell: Who are you? A married man, with a dying wife who’s sleeping around on her with a slut.

 

John Grunwald: Wrong again. We’re all happy and in love with each other. We support each other. Which is more than can be said for you. I was there for Melusine and Little Melanie when you were too busy thinking only of yourself.

 

Richard Cromwell: You’ll drop her as soon as she’s pregnant again.

 

John Grunwald: Never. I plan on spending the rest of my life making Melusine, Mel, Little Melanie and any other kids who come along happy as a family.

 

Richard Cromwell: You’re not fooling anyone. What would anyone want with a warthog like Melusine? She’s hideous-

 

John Grunwald: She’s beautiful. Her good qualities are endless and her negative qualities non-existent. She’s patient, kind, sweet, generous, beautiful, a great friend and lover.

 

Richard Cromwell: What future could you possibly hope to have? A concubine until his wife dies and then what? Its to the streets with you and your little hell spawn.

 

John Grunwald: Never! I love and cherish Melusine as much as I love and cherish Mel. I’d never throw her aside. I would die before I saw any of my dear ones in the streets!

 

Richard Cromwell: Do you think the world will just accept this little arrangement between you three? It flies in the face of traditional relationships and it will not be allowed to stand.

 

John Grunwald: We love each other and that’s all we need. Screw the tradition that blackballed Melusine from getting a job in Virginia. Screw the tradition that ostracized her for being pregnant out of wedlock. Screw the tradition that would keep us all apart and would rather see Melusine made a martyr than be happy in a stable loving relationship. If we’re talking so-called traditional values, why didn’t you step up and marry her when you found out she was pregnant? Tradition dictates you support your offspring, not abandon her to the wilds and you’ve fought every step of the way not to take responsibility for your actions. Face it, your arguments are invalid. Now, go away and leave my little Pixie alone.

 

Slowly Melusine regained consciousness from her distressing dream to find herself enveloped in the arms of John Grunwald.

 

The End. Rolling on the floor laughingRed heartRainbow

Leave a Reply

