Day Eight of the Experiment

I am giving serious thought to ending the experiment early but I don’t know what i’m going to do with all the herbs I’ve grown. Make fish soup? Bake it into bread? Have one hell of a pasta hangover? I really don’t know.

 

Five of the seven herbs are overgrowing the Aerogarden of Hope. The two Basils are crowding out light for all the other plants. The Cilantro is starting to turn colors from a lack of light. The Dill and two Basils keep growing into the light. This is the third time I’ve raised the hood light in a week. Just as fast as I raise it, they grow into it again. It’s a good thing this is an LED and not a CFL system. There’s a shield between the LEDs and plants.

 

The Mint is doing an interesting thing. It’s shooting out the sides of the seed pod. Prior to the experiment, I cut one shoot off but six more have taken its place. Hail Hydra.

 

The Curly Parsley and Chives (which I had to switch out owing to light blockage) are finally starting to grow but their progress is being blocked by the Basils, though the Chives are growing into the light as well. The whole of the Room of Doom smells like Basil. It’s nice to wake up to but it’s starting to burn my eyes a bit. It is a very strong aroma. I am so tempted to just cut it all back. Again, what would I do with it? I’m not going to eat it all again. That was painful when I did it last week.

 

I’m thinking of experimenting with cookery vis a vis a Red Fish Soup. I have an extra can of Tomato sauce that the Maternal Parental doesn’t want to eat. I also have egg noodles, copious amounts of fresh herbs, corn, green beans, Lemon Pepper, salt, pepper and celery seeds. It’s not much but it is somewhere to put these herbs.

 

Oh wait. I have frozen vegetables in the freezer! Yay! I’m going to make a Red Fish Soup and Mint flavored tea. BowlCoffee cup

 

I guess this means that the Ignoring Experiment is over at nine days into it. Thanks for reading my updates. The results are that the herb garden, when left to its own devices, drinks up about four to six cups of water on a good day. Given the ambient temperature of my room, combined with the growing methods, the plants do exceptionally well in their present location, though there is an issue with light blockage due to the high growth rate of the Basils and Mint. Tomatoes and Peppers should love it here. Plus, I just got a request to grow Spinach.

 

Someone is going to have tea and soup soon. Wish me well. Devil

 

Not much else is happening. The World continues to spin on. I continue to live upon it.

 

Later Everyone! Rolling on the floor laughingRed heartRainbow

2 thoughts on “Day Eight of the Experiment

  1. Some suggestions:

    Basils & cilantro – pesto, Italian foods

    Dill – potato, egg, tuna, & pasta salads, pickling spice

    Chives – soups, baked potato

    Parsley – dresses up almost anything or chew it to sweeten your breath. Also, if you eat it with gas inducing foods, it cuts the gassiness back

    Mint – drinks, middle eastern cooking (and once established, will take over the world)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m beginning to see that the Mint has dictatorial designs. It’s growing more and more each day. I’m tempted to cut the top off of the pod and just let it grow out but then I’d get algae.

      All I have is the ability to make soup. I made a Red Tilapia soup early this morning. It is delicious. Even the Maternal Parental loves it.

      My room smells like herbs now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

