A Little Bit More Free

Yesterday was probably the most amazing day in my lifetime thus far. SCOTUS in a 5-4 majority decided that Same-sex Marriage is recognized in all of the country. Fantastic news! This is one of many steps in the long road to Equality. 26 June will go down in history as a momentous day.

 

In honor of this event, I planted a new Aerogarden seed pod kit. The first picture is of my previous Gourmet Herbs garden kit. The second picture is of all the plants I removed from the Aerogarden to be potted up. The third picture is of my newly planted Equality Salsa Garden Kit.

 

I’m happy for several reasons. The marriages of my friends are now recognized all across the country. I’m happy for Equality being the law of the land for a change. I’m also happy because I feel like I can now move on with my life on a personal level. I made a vow a while back not to marry until Same-sex marriage was legal. So now, I can get married if I want to. No pressure, Significant Others. Smile with tongue out

 

Every time I look at the new garden kit growing, I’ll remember this day and remember the people, both living and dead, who struggled to make this day a reality.

 

Now, to knock those discriminatory laws down. Punch

 

I love Humanity, warts and all. I love it when it collectively rises and improves upon itself rather than maintaining the status quo out of a sense of fear or tradition. Whether it’s to do with recognizing the rights of a long discriminated against group of people or getting rid of an outdated symbol of hatred, supremacy and division. Even when things seem their darkest, this species offers a glimmer of hope.

 

Take care and have a great weekend, Peoples of the Sun. Rolling on the floor laughingRed heartRainbowRainbowRainbow

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit More Free

Leave a Reply

