My Personal Marathons

As noted in my previous post, I’ve been quite busy recently. Really, it’s all just my subterfuge to get away from doing the leg work I should be doing for NaNoWriMo. I’m intensely nervous about making a flaming Olympus Mons of crap writing, so I’ve been avoiding getting ready by diving into projects.

 

Well, I’ve messed up my “go to” crocheting project enough that I have to frog it and start over and I have an unfinished knitting project sitting on my soon to be decommissioned desk. As of this afternoon, I’ve successfully finished a project (Amigurumi Adipose) I’ve been putting off since 2012 and I feel it’s now time to buckle down and get my mental state prepared for NaNoWriMo.

 

 

Hello, World. What think you of my Adipose Baby? It took me only a few hours to do despite all the procrastination I put forth in making it. I remember a time when I was putting forth an effort at fighting this tendency in myself. I really must reignite the war against my bad habits.

 

At least I didn’t procrastinate on this any further than this. I still have enough time to come up with something passable to write by November.

 

After eleven years, this rickety desk is going out of my life. It is a secondhand hand-me-down from a neighbor who moved out of our previous residence who sold the Maternal Parental a love seat when we had no furniture to speak of. I’ve bad mouthed this table a lot over the years and cursed its existence but it really has been there for me as a constant presence. I’m going to miss the splinters, the near constant threat of my computer and other items crashing to the floor, the sticky drawers and all the other little things that will probably come to mind as I’m putting together this desk’s replacement.

 

Speaking of the replacement. I am getting a South Shore Annexe Home Office Computer Desk in Pure Black to match my bookcases, which are also South Shore. It’ll be nice having a stable desk with some space. I’m still trying to figure out how the internal stuff is going to be rearranged, as it only has one drawer, but I’m sure I’ll make it work somehow.

 

You see, this is the beginning of a redecorating plan for my room and, to a lesser extent, my home. If this decommissioned desk is wanted by the Maternal Parental, she’ll have a desk to sit and write at in her room. All I’ll need to do is get her a chair and floor mat. Update: She doesn’t want it. Saves me some money.

 

From there, I’m doing the shocking and unbelievable for me. After nearly ten years, I’m getting a bed to sleep in. I know! Shocking! I’m so used to the floor, it’s going to be so weird sleeping above that level. I’m reconciled to it though. I have everything for this endeavor picked out too, from the mattresses (Daybed with trundle) to the bedding to the pillows.

 

I am also getting rid of the Brown Battle Beast and its table in some manner. Even if it’s just putting it in the closet. In all honesty, I don’t use it. It’s just taking up space, collecting dust, and being a stand for various plants and my lamp (which is also going out of here). I don’t have all the parts to it, so selling it is not a likely scenario but if someone did make me a good offer on my circa 1950s 301a Singer Sewing Machine with table, I wouldn’t refuse.

 

After that is taken care of, I am going to save up and buy the Maternal Parental an Ikea sofa and two lamps she likes as a gift.

 

About the only other things I’m getting myself are a floor lamp and a second printer stand for my room. The floor lamp will be to replace the lamp currently sitting on the Brown Battle Beast’s table and the printer stand will be a matching one to the one currently holding the Aerogarden of Hope, only it will be for my actual printer.

 

Without going into too much detail… (looks up at the preceding and laughs) …there are going to be a few changes in my life over the next few years which require I rearrange things in my room and life drastically. How’s that for cryptic vagaries?

 

About the only other thing happening right now is Jalapeno pepper population explosion. I shook the pepper plant a few times, not really expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised today to find several peppers already developing. I know one isn’t supposed to compare children but I really wish the tomatoes would perform like this. One can only eat so many jalapenos before one gets tired of them.

 

That is all. Enjoy your day. Be well.

4 thoughts on “My Personal Marathons

  1. You gave me a great idea. I have lots of turkey leftovers from a very busty turkey breast I made. There are only 2 of us here so a big pot pie is a great idea. Yours look very tasty!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your compliments! 🙂

      Turkey Pot Pie is > than Chicken Pot Pie.

      *sniffle*

      Now I want more pot pie. Sadly, I didn’t get to taste any of the ones pictured. They were for my aunt, uncle, and various cousins. I did make two follow up pies though, which were quite delicious.

      I think tonight I’ll take it easy and make pasta or something.

      Like

Leave a Reply

