Pile It On and Watch Me Crunch

To say that this week has been stressful would be an understatement.

I am doing NaNoWriMo AKA National Novel Writing Month this month. I’m in the process of writing out a novel I’m calling Forsaken Paladins. I think I’m doing good at any rate. Also, friends who have read what I have thus far have given me positive reviews based on what they’ve read. So, that’s something. However, it is stressful having to complete this journey and go through life at the same time.

 

For the time being, I have put off doing all knitting and crocheting projects to enable me to focus on the task at hand, which is writing. I will not touch the yarn, hooks, and needles until 1 December 2015, no matter how bad it gets. Believe me, it’s bad right now but I’m keeping to this vow.

 

I almost wasn’t going to blog either but something happened that demands a venting. It’s a stressor on top of a stressful situation on top of an already stressed out situation.

 

I have recently, within the last day, found out that I’ve been knocked into a higher risk bracket for the possibility of colon cancer. So now, instead of at age fifty, I have to go get my colonoscopy at age 40. Crap, that’s less than six years from now. That’s stressor number one.

 

This warning klaxon was sounded when a first degree relative went for their colonoscopy and a large, golf ball sized polyp was found, removed, and sent for biopsy to determine malignancy or benignity. That’s stressor number two.

 

On top of this, my dear sweet asthma seems to be getting worse. The “bronchitis” I thought I was suffering from for more than six weeks turned out to be my asthmatic lungs showing off. They’ve never done it to this level before. I can’t take a deep breath without a deep, booming, life sucking, unproductive cough and, let me tell you, the coughing fits lost their magic weeks ago. That’s stressor number three.

 

All of this is kind of putting a cramp in my writing for NaNoWriMo 2015. I’ll be the first to admit it. Nevertheless, I am not giving up and I am not giving in. I made a promise to myself that I would write out fifty thousand or more words by 30 November and so I shall. As of right now, I’m at 13,166 words according to the NaNoWriMo site. I’ve got just 36,834 left to go to complete the threshold requirements though, personally, I think my story is going to go beyond the 50,000 word count.

 

I hope you’re all doing well. Please, take care.

Leave a Reply

