Expanding My Territory

2016-02-22 21.18.17

 

I am finally making moves to getting more growing space. In my community, there are garden plots available for rental for as low as $20USD per year. I’m not sure as to the specifics beyond that but, if this is still accurate, you’re reading the words of someone who is going to seize this opportunity as soon as it flies past her. For that princely sum, I would get a 4’ x 20’ plot to grow stuff in and a key to the growing space.

 

As much as I love the Aerogarden for snacks/light meals, it’s not sustainable for anything more than that in the long term. As it stands, I don’t have the room in my room to make a hydroponics system that could feed everyone I’d like to feed. So, with that door closed to me for the foreseeable future, my most feasible option is to get a soil based growing space and work from there. Heck, for the space advertised, I could feed a lot of people I’d like to feed. I’ve already promised some of the future harvest to one friend and another has automatic rights to the harvest as well because he’s such a good friend and has helped us tremendously. It’s only a question of getting the plot and supplies at this point.

 

It’s just a matter of getting the supplies to the growing space once I get it. I’m definitely going to grow tomatoes and peppers. While peppers might not need staking, the tomatoes I’d like to grow certainly will. For that, I’d need the supplies for a trellis system. I’d have no problems getting the stuff. I’d just need to figure out a way to get it to the site. I don’t know anyone with a truck, so I’d either have to walk it from where I live or hire someone. I really don’t think they’d let me on the bus with some of the supplies.

 

Seeds are no difficulty. In fact, they’re probably going to be one of the easiest things to acquire/transport. I’ll start them indoors here and then carry them to the grow site once they’re big enough to survive on their own.

 

2016-02-24 08.10.49

 

In other news, I’ve frogged the sweater/cardigan I was knitting for my mother and replaced it with a crochet pattern. I’m really not in the mood to knit right now. Especially not something as large as a cardigan. So, I’ve opted instead for the New Beginnings Bulky Sweater. It’s a nice, comfortable looking cardigan pattern by Agnes Russell. The best part about this pattern is that I’ll probably end up using even more of this hideous (don’t like the color) pink yarn since it is a crochet pattern. I’m definitely hoping to get this pattern finished by July or earlier.

 

Another good thing about this pattern is that I can take it with me. While the other sweater was on circular needles, there was always the fear in me that the knitting would slip off of the needles. No such fears with crocheting.

 

So, this is my new nighttime pattern until I finish the Boba Fett. Then, it’ll be my all day pattern.

 

For now though, I need to sleep. I have been having a lot of trouble sleeping lately. Good morning, All. 

8 thoughts on “Expanding My Territory

    • I’m not sure yet. I just got the e-mail this morning before all hell broke loose storm-wise. I’m going to call first thing tomorrow to see what supplies I might need.

      I imagine I’d need hand tools. I have everything I imagine I might need in one of my Wishlists on Amazon. Anything else, I’ll add onto the wishlist tomorrow and, hopefully, buy over time.

      Like

    • It would be a very tiny house indeed. It’s a garden plot.

      I’ll probably be posting more about this once I get it but I managed to get the Aerogarden Bounty. 🙂

      I’ll be (hopefully) growing both indoors and outdoors starting this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

