Ice Queen 101– Lessons in Cold

Perhaps this is a cold thing to do but I no longer have enough emotionally invested to care.

 

fishermanswoolhatiii-complete

 

Prior to this year, I’ve been willing, nay, eager to gift things I’ve knitted or crocheted to people I considered friends and significant others gratis. I haven’t asked anything of them other than that they give me a place to send said gift once it is finished. Despite repeatedly putting my divestment of said items on hold by swearing they were coming for it themselves, in person, almost no one showed up. When I asked for an address/PO Box to send this growing accumulation of items, save for a few, all I got were the sound of crickets.

 

fishermanswoolhatcomplete

 

Now, I have put people on hold who were willing to pay for said items or who needed items more. I did it out of love and concern for the people I thought were my friends. Well, 2017 is a new year. I have been slowly giving away the items I’ve made. Just today, I gave away two very nicely made Fisherman’s wool hats and a Fisherman’s wool scarf I made for someone in April 2013. Yes, you read that right. I made it in 2013 and despite several attempts on my part to get it shipped out, with the response being to hold it until an obscure future date of visitation arrives, no one has come to get it or given me an address or PO Box to send it to.

 

fishermanswoolscarfiii-23rows_medium2

 

So, it is gone. I just gave it all away today. I’m sick of living with the virtual clutter of a failed relationship’s pieces in the form of completed works overflowing my finished projects box. This is my tangible effort at moving on.

 

For this year, as far as Knitting and Crocheting are concerned, I’m going to focus on charities, select friends/family, and myself.

2 thoughts on “Ice Queen 101– Lessons in Cold

Leave a Reply

