This Is The Beginning…

This is the first of what I hope will be many Daily Blog “Topic” posts. Today’s (and every Monday’s) topic is Gardening related. I am, by no means an expert on Gardening, Horticulture, Botany, Plant science, etc. I’ve only studied it, years ago, in High School. This was followed by a brief encounter with the Horticulture program at a local community college before my illnesses started rending me asunder. Anything I have learned since then has been on my own, in my own time, and at my own risk.

 

Recently, as of 9 January 2017, I have installed a new seedpod kit in my Aerogarden. This is a unique seedpod kit in that I am growing my own seeds for a change using a Grow Your Own Seed Pod Kit. They are three pods filled with four Sweet Pickle Organic Peppers seeds each. I got the seeds from Park Seeds on 10 March 2016 and they’re still viable. I am on a learning curve all over again with the Aerogarden and with these new plant’s idiosyncrasies. Regardless, I am happy to be growing these peppers. I’m really looking forward to the coming harvest.

 

2017-01-23 17.04.54

 

When last I grew peppers, they were Jalapeños and I only grew one plant in the previous Aerogarden via the Salsa Garden kit. I grew it passably well but mistakes were made. At the time, I didn’t know about the docking one is supposed to do when the plants, or in this case plant, gets to a certain height. My pruning skills also weren’t up to my present standards. On top of that, an insect flew in an laid eggs on my precious baby. After that, I had to get rid of it. The infestation was too far along by the time I saw it for what it was.

 

Currently, I’m checking out a few resources to aid me in growing these peppers well. One resource is the Cornell Vegetable Growing Guide specifying Peppers. Another is a gardening forum and website with a plethora of resources called Gardenstew. Between these two sites, all the information a search engine can provide and my driven abilities, I am hopeful in attaining the goal of successfully maintaining these peppers for at least a year, if not longer.

 

I came across three interesting videos on the subject of growing peppers. One is a video on Potted Peppers (Video Link) by BadAssFarmer. Another is a video on pruning peppers called EZ Pepper Pruning For Great Results and Huge Yields (Video Link) by Alberta Urban Garden Simple Organic and Sustainable. The third is a video on pruning the roots of an Aerogarden grown plant called Ep9: How to Trim the Roots of a Hot Pepper | Hot Peppers in an Aerogarden | Update (Video Link) by Pepper Perry.

 

I think that’s about all I have in me for a themed post. This is hard work but very fulfilling getting the information together. See you all tomorrow where, hopefully, I can do better with this writing format.

2 thoughts on “This Is The Beginning…

  1. Remember that tomatoes and peppers need more calcium than most plants, to avoid blossom end rot. At least when you grow them in dirt. I don’t know how the Aerogarden works on individual plant needs. Blither blither blither… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

